Tags

image

Women’s day came and went by..did it make any difference to anybody??just a frank question.
Loads of messages and forwards exchanged…people wishing women…men trying to be goody goo and appreciating women just for one day ..all said and done..women feeling empowered..wow..it’s women’s day so???Wat difference did it make in anyone’s life??
My sis in law abroad had to to do the house hold chores as usual – all alone..
My Mil went about doing her routine Sunday chores – no rest..
My friends married/single all went about the same cooking- cleaning-dusting-mopping routine, going about winding up the unfinished business put off the entire week to be done on Sunday.
My maid came as usual…I did not give her an off ( cause Sunday is the only day I see her ) neither did she even know that today was womens day.
Does it make any difference in her life?? No!! It was just a normal work day for her, the lady security guard at the gate came to work as usual leaving a sick child at home, the flower vendor /tea stall lady was at their usual spot, taking a day off , that too on a Sunday would mean extreme loss of income for them.
I know I sound like a bored wife/women, but my day was the same as any day, even worse, it being a Sunday, my usual household chores, of cleaning dusting, washing a week load of clothes and extra work as it’s the one day I get an off!!
The one day I don’t have to set my alarm and rise and shine before the  clock strikes 7. The one day when I dont have to worry about packing my break fast and lunch or deciding on what to wear to work or rush to switch on the geyser, lest I forget and end up with chilly water.
I enjoy the ambience of sleeping late till 10 on a Sunday but trust my circadian rhythm to wake me up exactly at 7a.m   😦 my usual waking time everyday.
I twist and turn and tell myself it’s a  holiday!! So I definitely can afford two more hours of sleep and I doze off only to be woken up by the tympanic membrane peircing ring of the door bell, the cleaning staff having come to collect the garbage sharp at 9.30 a.m.
I sigh- cry and pull myself out of bed, hunt and dispose it off and climb into my bed to grab another hour of sleep and the bell rings again..now what!!! Here comes the car cleaning guy..duh huh..I glance over at my husband peacefully enjoying his sleep.
I fret and again clamber out of bed and give the car keys to the anxious guy at the door and jump into bed again, Hmmm… Dozing and dreaming of the  heavenly skies and blue seas and …. the door bell rings again, I wake up with a jolt and not again…..aaaahh my great maid has come, inspite of my repeated pleadings asking her to come a little late on Sundays…She is here by 10!!
I sigh – whine and miss my dads home, where I would not wake up before 12!! All groggy eyed I walk over to refrigerator and hand over the veggies to be cooked and instructions ranted.
I contemplate on catching a wink again but decide otherwise and scurry off  to freshen up, glancing  sadly at the clothes to be washed, thinking,
Why Oh Why God..why wasn’t I born a man..that too an Indian man..I would be sleeping and lazing while my wife would be doing all this..( Sounding familiar?? No offence to Indian men but that’s the truth) I double sigh and ponder over this grumpily, blaming God and my XX chromosome and plunge headlong into my Sunday chores..my sleep having gone for a toss and still hoping to catch up on an afternoon slumber..
Huh…Working Womens day girls…enjoyyy…

image

Psst** This is the routine for women without children..the mere thought of my friends with kids and the amount of work they are subjected to freaks me out. 😦

